Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 7/14/25 License #/Type: 3002 Beverage Dispensary Tourism
Licensee: Alaska Hotel Properties, LLC  Address: 17245 Frontier Cir., Cooper Landing, AK
DBA: Eagle Crest Dining Room & Lounge AMCO Case #: 25-0950

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On 7-11-25 an inspection was conducted at your establishment. Server, Emily Grossnicklaus,
presented an expired alcohol server education card, TAP 305573, 6-1-25. She was told to stop
serving alcoholic beverages until she provided a Board representative proof she has obtained current
alcohol server education.

Your attention is directed to AS 04.21.025: Alcoholic education service course and AS 04.16.150:
Licensee responsible for violations

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:
NONE

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days after receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7t" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: J. Hamilton Received by:
SIGNATURE: F~/Z. WWA/’DA/ SIGNATURE:
Delivered VIA: Mail Date:

updated 04/07/2025 Tracking#: 7021 0950 0001 6766 9964



Rosenbaum, Beth A (CED)

=)
From: Hamilton, Joe (CED)
Sent: Wednesday, July 23, 2025 12:27 PM
To: tsmith@hagroup.com; ANEELD@HAGROUP.COM
Cc: Rosenbaum, Beth A (CED)
Subject: RE: Alaska Hotel Properties, LLC - AMCO Violation Notice - Eagle Crest Dining Room

and Lounge 7/14/2025 - Response Required

Thank you and I’ll make sure this gets filed.

From: Smith, Tracy (HAP) <tsmith@hagroup.com>

Sent: Wednesday, July 23, 2025 11:19 AM

To: CED AMCO Enforcement (CED sponsored) <amco.enforcement@alaska.gov>; Hamilton, Joe (CED)
<joe.hamilton@alaska.gov>

Cc: Neeld, Alison (HAP) <aneeld @hagroup.com>

Subject: RE: Alaska Hotel Properties, LLC - AMCO Violation Notice - Eagle Crest Dining Room and Lounge 7/14/2025 -
Response Required

Some people who received this message don't often get email from tsmith@hagroup.com. Learn why this is important
p

Hello,

In regards to the Notice of Violation, we just wanted to be sure that the confirmation of the server’s updated TAPs
card was received. Additionally, monthly audits are being completed to ensure that all team members have their
current TAPs card and any upcoming expiring cards are resolved proactively. We have also reviewed with every
service team member the requirements to have their valid TAPS card on their person at all times. If they don’t have
it, they cannot work.




Notice of Violation

{3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 7/14/25 License #Type: 3002 Beverage Dispensary Tourism

Licensee: Alaska Hotel Properties, LLC ~ Address: 17245 Frontier Cir., Cooper Landing, AK
DBA: Eagle Crest Dining Room & Lounge AMCO Case # 25-0950

This i& & notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occumed. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44,52.330 - AS 44.62.630 {Administrative Procedures Act) you will recsive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal camplalnt.
On 7-11-25 an inspection was conducted at your establishment. Server, Emily Grossnicklaus,
presented an expired alcohol server education card, TAP 305573, 6-1-25. She was told to stop

serving alcoholic beverages until she provided a Board representative proof she has obtained current
alcohol server education.

Your attention is directed to AS 04.21.025: Alcoholic education service course and AS 04.16.150:
Licensee responsible for violations

Prior discipiinary history within the past 5 years:
NONE

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.526 (B) provides that upon raceipt of a Notice of Violation, a may req to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. mmnmuub-mnd-whhhhndlyc'Ihrme-iptoftmm’mmunDnunmsuugranlwmam\awnmnnndays
after receipl of @ request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

650 W. 7* Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501

amco.enforcement@alaska.gov
Issuing Investigator: J. Hamilton Received by:
SIGNATURE: <& AAwtef L7048/ SIGNATURE:
Delivered VIA: Mail Date:

pdsie O4TIZ028 Tracking #: 7021 0950 0001 6766 9964




R s
Alaska CHARR Training for Alcohol Professionals (TAP)® Renewal

CERTIFICATE of COMPLETION

THIS ACKNOWLEDGES THAT

ke

Emily Grossnicklaus

HAS SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED THE

Online Alaska TAP® Responsible Beverage
Server and Seller Training Program

|

\
Date of Completion: July 11, 2025 —
This Certificate Expires on: 14 days from the date

CHARR ¢

FUNITY ) - < D
H ; -.,:DCKK'&, »-[) O, \-*uc_r

STRENGrn THROVS

SIGNED, David Daniel, TAP Instruector
TRAINING FOI

PROFESS

NOTE - This is your temporary certification farm. Your official certification card will be mailed to you within 5§ businress
This certificate (s NOT valld if the person listed is under the age of 24.
Please contact Alaska CHARR at 907-274-8133 with questions regarding this certification

@ g~ O
L3

Please advise if any additional information is required.

Thank you,
P~ Tracy Smith

General Manager | Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

HAP Alaska-Yukon www.alaskatourjobs.com

PRINCESS . 8+1(907)250-0819 B tsmith@hagroup.com

Q PO Box 950 Cooper Landing, AK 99572

From: Hamilton, Joe (CED) <joe.hamilton@alaska.gov>
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2025 6:20 PM




To: Neeld, Alison (HAP) <aneeld@hagroup.com>
Subject: Re: [OUTSIDE EMAIL] TAPS

Excellent
Sent from my iPhone

OnJul11, 2025, at 14:12, Neeld, Alison (HAP) <aneeld@hagroup.com> wrote:

CAUTION: This email originated from outside the State of Alaska mail system. Do not click links or open
attachments unless you recognize the sender and know the content is safe.

Hi Joe,

Here is Emily’s TAPS certificate. We were able to get the ID verification fixed with CHARR and a new
certificate sent right over.

Thanks again for all the info and safe travels home!

Alison Neeld

Food and Beverage Manager
aneeld@hagroup.com

907-203-3834

Princess Cruises and Holland America Line
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
<image001.png>

From: Emily Grossnicklaus <egrossni@asu.edu>
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2025 2:05 PM

To: Neeld, Alison (HAP) <aneeld@hagroup.com>
Subject: [OUTSIDE EMAIL] TAPS

<GVOHgPJ9RniafEMSu;jYi.jpeg>
WARNING: External Email - Use Caution and Beware of Fraudulent Content and Links.

The information contained in this email and any attachment may be confidential and/or
legally privileged and has been sent for the sole use of the intended recipient. If you are not
an intended recipient, you are not authorized to review, use, disclose or copy any of its
contents. If you have received this emailin error please reply to the sender and destroy all
copies of the message. Thank you.

To the extent that the matters contained in this email relate to services being provided by
Princess Cruises and/or Holland America Line (together "HA Group") to Carnival
Australia/P&O Cruises Australia, HA Group is providing these services under the terms of a
Services Agreement between HA Group and Carnival Australia.




Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 7/17/25 License #/Type: 901 Beverage Dispensary
Licensee: Polar Bar, Inc. Address: 507 E. 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK
DBA: Polar Bar AMCO Case #: 05-0971

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On 7-15-25 an inspection was conducted at your facility. Bartender Shannon Haskin was asked to
provide proof of current server education. Ms. Haskin advised she had to retrieve her card from
home. She was instructed notto serve aicoholic beverages until she provided proof to a Board
representative of current server education. Contact was made with Alaska CHARR and it was
learned her TAP card #146968 had expired on 2-11-24. Haskin was issued citation for expired
server education. The licensee called on 7-17-25 and stated she was scheduled for a class on
7-18-25.

Your attention is directed to AS 04.21.025: Alcohol server education and AS 04.16.150: Licensee
responsible for violations.

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:
NONE

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER It PERSON OR TELEPHUNICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days aiter receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7*" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: J. Hamilton Received by: j.h‘,;l,z\{ £. Siwmw o9
SIGNATURE: SIGNATURE: &W Z &W
Delivered VIA: Mail Date: 2/ Fuly 25

updated 04/07/2025 Tracking #:
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Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 8/8/25 License #/Type: 176 Package Store
Licensee: Breeze-In Corporation Address: 2200 Trout St., Juneau, AK
DBA: Breeze-In Liquor AMCO Case #: 25-1107

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On 8-5-25, an inspection was conducted at your facility. The person behind the cash register,
Andrew L. Skaflestad, was asked to provide proof of server education. He stated he wasn't selling
alcoholic beverage; rather he was watching the counter while a co-worker mopped the floor. His ID
and server card were checked. Skaflestad provided TAP Card, #306408, which had expired 7-22-25.
He was not cited since he said he was assisting the other employee by watching the counter. The
following day, Inv. Hamilton contacted Store Manager G. Buck, and she allowed him to look at the
video from the previous night. Ms. Buck also stated she had removed Skaflestad from the liquor
store to the grocery side because he had expired server education. The video showed that prior to
Inv. Hamilton's arrival, Skaflestad was selling alcoholic beverages. When Skaflestad arrived back to
work, he was cited for expired server education.

Your attention is directed toward AS 04.21.025: Alcohol server education

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:

None

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days after receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7t" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: J. Hamilton Received by:
SIGNATURE: ~.£ MWU’DA/ SIGNATURE:
Delivered VIA: Malil Date:

updated 04/07/2025 Tracking#: 7021 0950 0001 6767 1110



Rosenbaum, Beth A (CED)

==
From: CED AMCO Enforcement (CED sponsored)
Sent: Wednesday, August 20, 2025 10:24 AM
To: Ginger Buck
Subject: RE: Notice of Violation

Thank you so much for this. | will add it to the NOV as your response.

Much appreciated,

Beth Rosenbaum

Criminal Justice Technician II
AMCO Enforcement

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
550 W. 7t Ave, Suite 1600

Anchorage, AK 99501
Office (907) 754-3410

beth.rosenbaum@alaska.qgov

From: Ginger Buck <ginger.b@myersgrouplic.com>

Sent: Wednesday, August 20, 2025 9:42 AM

To: CED AMCO Enforcement (CED sponsored) <amco.enforcement@alaska.gov>
Cc: Rick Wilson <rick.w@myersgroupllc.com>

Subject: Notice of Violation

You don't often get email from ginger.b@myersgroupllc.com. Learn why this is important

CAUTION: This email originated from outside the State of Alaska mail system. Do not click links or open
attachments unless you recognize the sender and know the content is safe.

AMCO Case #25-1107
License # 176

Hello,

I am Ginger Buck, Valley Breeze In Store Manager responding to the Notice of Violation.
Andrew "Krage" Skaflestad has been recertified. At 7:38pm 8-5-25 he signed up to take the TAP
test. When he returned to work on 8-6-25 he had already taken the test and passed.

His certificate was printed and placed in the Liquor store on the 6™ He has since received his new TAP
card, and itis on file on the Liquor side with his ID as of 8-19-25.

I have a tracking program in place that will insure all new and current employees will be certified prior to
any shift on the Liquor side. | am shutting Liquor down if we do not have any TAP certified employees.




I'have also held a staff meeting so all employees on all shifts are aware of how important it is to stay in
compliance and not step over to the Liquor side for any reason unless they have a valid TAP card.

Please let me know if you need anything else from me or my staff.

Thank you,

Ginger Buck

VBI Store Manager
907-957-8145




Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 8/6/25 License #/Type: 828 Package Store
Licensee: Thibodeau's Market, Inc. Address: 1017 3rd ST, Douglas, AK
DBA: Thibodeau's Douglas Depot AMCO Case #:AM251121

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

Inspection on 8/6/25 revealed that employee Brittney Wilson did not have a current Alcohol Server
Education. Wilson showed me the schedule on her phone where she had started on July 3, 2025.
Wilson completed the required education on 8/8/25 and emailed me a copy of her certificate.

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.
3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the

Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days after receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7t" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: J. Rukes Received by:
SIGNATURE: SIGNATURE: % CEMJW
Delivered VIA: Email Date: g/12/25

updated 04/07/2025 Tracking #:



August 13, 2025

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
Attn: Enforcement

550 W. 7™ Ave. Suite 1600
Anchorage, AK 99501

Licensee: Thibodeaus MarketInc.
DBA Thibodeaus Douglas Depot
AMCO Case #AM251121

License number: 828

To whom it may concern:

Please accept this letter as an explanation of how we are taking more steps to prevent the
re-occurrence of this violation.

With a large turnaround of employees (especially in the summer months) and the new test
online, we have added the following steps to our procedures. Entering more notes on
their payroll of when they are hired, when the class needs to be completed and having a red
flag as to when the course is taken. With the new online course, it has been more
confusing for some employees to complete and as an employer we have been walking it
through with them to make sure it is done.

k you for your time and consideration.

VA

Pete Thibodeau

Thibodeaus Market Inc.

PO Box 20290
Juneau, Ak 99802

907-957-7676




Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 7/7/25 License #/Type: 5296 Restaurant/Eating Place
Licensee: Samantha & Dewey Wells Address: 1921 W. Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK
DBA: Little Dipper Diner AMCO Case #: 25-0826

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On 6-12-25, an inspection was completed at your establishment. You were found to be employing a
16-year-old without an approved Department of Labor Work Permit. From information you provided,
the 16-year-old worked a total of 37 days from 2-22-25 to 6-12-25 without an approved permit.

Your attention is directed to AS 04.16.052(a)(2): Furnishing of alcoholic beverages to persons under
the age of 21 by licensees. "(a) A licensee or an agent or employee of the licensee may not with
criminal negligence....(2) allow a person under the age of 21 years to enter and remain within
licensed premises except as provided in AS 04.16.049,

AS 23.10.355: Employment of persons under 21, and AS 04.16.150: Licensee responsible for
violations

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:
NONE

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days after receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7t" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: J. Hamilton Received by:
SIGNATURE: £=¢p AL TON SIGNATURE:
Delivered VIA: Mail Date:

updated 04/07/2025 Tracking#: 7021 0950 0001 6766 9957



Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)

This form, alt information provided and fespeonses are public documents per Alacka Public Recarde ACT AS 40.25

Date: 7/7/25 License #/Type: 5296 Restaurant/Eating Place
Licensee: Samantha & Dewey Wells Address: 1921 W. Dimond Bivd, Anchorage, A
DBA: Little Dipper Diner AMCO Case #: 25-0826

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your iicense, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.830 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On 6-12-25, an inspection was completed at your establishment. You were found to be employing a
16-year-old without an approved Department of Labor Work Permit. From information you provided,
the 16-year-old worked a total of 37 days from 2-22-25 to 6-12-25 without an approved permit.

Your attention is directed to AS 04.16.052(a)(2): Furnishing of alcoholic beverages to persons under
the age of 21 by licensees. "(a) A licensee or an agent or employee of the licensee may not with
criminal negligence....(2) allow a person under the age of 21 years to enter and remain within
licensed premises except as provided in AS 04.16.049,

AS 23.10.355: Employment of persons under 21, and AS 04.16.150: Licensee responsible for
violations

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:
NONE

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of thie violation, FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 16 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days afier receipt of the Notice and the Direcior must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7t Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501

amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: J. Hamilton Received by:

SIGNATURE: FL. AL TN SIGNATURE:
Delivered VIA: Mail Date:

(R
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To whom it may concern: 7/10/2025

| am writing this letter to explain the violation, | did not know that 16
year olds needed a work permit, that is my fault, | really thought it was
for 14 & 15 year olds, but now that | know it will never happen again, |
did respond right away and Davin did get his work permit as soon as
possible, | complied right away and got it straightened out as soon as |
knew.

Again, | am sorry that this happened and it will never happen again.

Thank you

Samantha Wells

License number 5296




Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 8/8/25 License #/Type: 4788 Beverage Dispensary (MFCE
Licensee: Tailwind, Inc Address: #2 Marine Way, Juneau, AK
DBA: Roma Bistro AMCO Case #: 25-1106

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On 8-5-25, an inspection was conducted at your restaurant. The bartender, Samuel Holley, and
server, Kaylin Cowie, were asked to provide proof of server education. Mr Holley has been an
employee for about the last 6 months. Ms Cowie has been employed sense about May 2025; neither
have server training. Both were instructed to stop serving alcoholic beverages until they could

provide proof to an Alcoholic Beverage Control Board representative they have received alcohol
server training. Both were written citations.

Your attention is directed to AS 04.21.025: Alcohol server education, AS 04.21.030: Responsibilities
of licensee, agents, and employees and AS 04.16.150: Licensee responsible for violations

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:

None

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcoholi license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days after receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7*" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501

amco.enforcement@alaska.gov .
1D) ((U
i i : ".;l; !]:53 ”Em@
Issuing Investigator: J. Hamilton el Lot

Received by:
SIGNATURE: FA AL 7D SIGNATURE: AUG 2 1 2025
Delivered VIA: Mail Date: Dept. of Commerce
AMCO

updated 04/07/2025

Tracking #: 7021 0950 0001 6767 1103




Tailwind Inc. (DBA) Roma Bistro
2 Marine Way Suite 206

Juneau, AK 99801
reecia@juneauwaterfront.com
907-586-5018

August 14, 2025

Alaska Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
550 W 7th Ave, Suite 1600, Anchorage, AK 99501

Subject: License # 4788: Response to Notice of Violation Dated April 7, 2025

Dear Sir/Madam,

We acknowledge receipt of the Notice of Violation dated April 7, 2025, regarding employees
Samuel Holley and Kaylin Cowie serving alcohol without the required Alaska alcohol server
training.

In response, we immediately instructed the named employees to complete the Alaska alcohol
server training. They completed the training on August 8. We will ensure that all relevant staff
are fully certified and compliant with state regulations moving forward to prevent any future
occurrences.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Please let us know if any further information
or documentation is required.

Sincerely,
7
7/
\

Reecia Wilson

-

Owner
Tailwind, Inc.

RECHNED

AUG 2 1 2025

Dept. of Commerce
AMCO




Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 8/11/25 License #/Type: 2728 Beverage Dispensary
Licensee: David McGivney Address: 9101 Mendenhall Mall Road, Juneau, AK, 99801
DBA: McGivney's Sports Bar & Grill AMCO Case #:AM 25-1099

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On 08/05/2025, AMCO Investigators Linger and Hamilton entered McGivneys Sports Bar & Grill to conduct a routine inspection. Investigator Linger contacted owner/licensee David McGivney, and Investigator
Hamilton contacted employee/server Beau Smith. Both McGivney and Smith provided expired (03/20/2025) alcohol server education cards. When asked about renewing, McGivney initially stated he attempted
to upload his ID to CHARR around June of 2025, but was unable to do so and just gave up. McGivney later stated he did contact CHARR and was walked through the process but it still wouldn't work, so he
gave up. This is in violation of the below referenced Alaska Statute, and Alaska Administrative Code.

This is in violation of:
AS 04.21.025 Alcohol server education course (a)(c), 3 AAC 305.700(a), and AS 04.16.150 Licensee responsible for violations

AS 04.21.025(a) Except as provided under (e) and (f) of this section, as a condition of issuance or renewal of a license or conditional contractor's permit and selling alcoholic beverages under a license or
conditional contractor's permit, the board shall require a licensee or permittee who sells or serves alcoholic beverages and a licensee's or permittee’s agents and employees who sall or serve alcoholic
beverages or check the identification of a patron to complete an alcohol server education course approved by the board.

(c) Alicensee, permittee, agent, or employee shall complete the course required under (a) of this section and pass a written test, online or in person, demonstrating an understanding of the course subjects not
more than 30 days after being licensed, permitted, or employed. The course provider shall issue a card to each individual who completes the course and passes the written test. A card issued under this
subsection is valid for three years from the date of issue. A licensee, permittee, agent, or employee may renew a card issued under this section; to renew the card, the licensee, permittee, agent, or employee
must pass a written test demonstrating an understanding of the course subjects. Notwithstanding the 30-day period 95 for completing the course and passing the written test under this subsection, a person
may not sell or serve alcoholic beverages or check the identification of a patron at a permitted event under AS 04.09.600 - 04.09.690 unless the person possesses a valid card issued before the event.

3 AAC 305.700. Alcohol server education course. (a) Unless exempt under AS 04.21.025(f), a licensee, employee, or agent of a licensee selling or serving alcoholic beverages shall successfully complete an
alcohol server education course. The person or the on  duty supervisor shall carry or have available to show current course cards or photocopies of the cards certifying completion of an approved alcohol
server education course. The card is effective for three years from the date of issuance during which time the person shall complete another approved course or successfully complete a written test
demonstrating an understanding of the course subjects as required by AS 04.21.025(c). The card must include the name and date of birth of the card holder, the name of the course, and the date of expiration
of the card. If the card does not include a photograph of the holder, the person shall also carry a valid identification under 3 AAC 305.800(b). The card or a photocopy of the card must be shown upon request
of a peace officer or board representative. If the person cannot show a current card or a copy of it on file on the premises or show a date of hire less than 30 days earlier, the person shall immediately cease
selling or serving alcoholic beverages or checking identification.

AS 04.16.150. Licensee responsible for violations. (a) A licensee may neither knowingly allow agents or employees to violate this title or regulations adopted under this title nor recklessly or with criminal
negligence fail to act in accordance with the duty prescribed under AS 04.21.030 with the result that an agent or employee of the licensee violates a law or regulation.

(b) Except as provided under AS 04.16.030(f) and 04.16.052(¢), a licensee who knowingly violates (a) of this section commits the offense of failure to ensure compliance.

(c) Failure to ensure compliance is a violation.

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:
N/A

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days after receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: J. Linger EI Received by:
SIGNATURE: SIGNATURE:
Delivered VIA: Mail Date:

updated 04/07/2025 T racking #
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To the Amco Board.

I am responding to you on my Notice of Violation, AMCO Case # AM 25-1099.

| will take full responsibility for myself and my employee for having just recently expired
TAPS cards. Since then myself and Mr.Smith have updated our Taps cards with the help of
CHARR on our file also as everyone on my staff that is working is current . We are also
holding a meeting this Sunday to go over protocols for a revisit. Unfortunately, there has
been a change in my current management position which always handled the paperwork of
our employees on this matter. While I’ve prided myself and my staff for staying on top of
things for over the last 15 Years and 5 Bar/Restaurants with 100’s of Employees in the city of
Juneau without 1 Single Violation, It’s very insulting to me that Investigator Lingor would
use the words ( Just Gave Up) to describe my position and explanation in his report
because that was never the intent. | hope this suffices the steps | have taken to satisfy your
concerns in regard to my License # 2728 Beverage Dispensary. Thank you for your time. If
you have any questions for me, | can be reached at 907-723-91 87 at any time. Thank you

REGEIED

Sincerely, ——

David McGivney, President

, : Dept. of Commerce
Molly Venturesﬂlrjgﬂ.m AMCO

-~ T
-~

~




Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 8/25/25 License #/Type: 39 Recreational Site

Licensee: Kristy Bernier (President) Address: 2075 Glenn Hwy, Palmer, AK 99645
DBA: Alaska State Fair 1 Mile South of Palmer AMCO Case #: AM 25-1182

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On 08/23/2025 at approximately 2030 hours, AMCO Investigator Joe Linger, entered one of the many Beer Tents (Watering Hole/yellow trail) located on the fair grounds to conduct a routine inspection. Inv.
Linger contacted two people behind the bar and asked that anyone selling or serving alcohol present an ID and alcohol server education card. Server, Kimberly Boggs, provided an expired alcohol server

education card that had expired 15 days prior to the inspection (08/08/2025). Boggs admitted she knew the card had expired. This is in violation of the below referenced Alaska Statute, and Alaska
Administrative Code.

This is in violation of:
AS 04.21.025 Alcohol server education course (a)(c), 3 AAC 305.700(a), and AS 04.16.150 Licensee responsible for violations

AS 04.21.025(a) Except as provided under (e) and (f) of this section, as a condition of issuance or renewal of alicense or conditional contractor's permit and selling alcoholic beverages under a license or
conditional contractor's permit, the board shall require a licensee or permittee who sells or serves alcoholic beverages and a licensee's or permittee’s agents and employees who sell or serve alcoholic
beverages or check the identification of a patron to complete an alcohol server education course approved by the board.

(c) A licensee, permittee, agent, or employee shall complete the course required under (a) of this section and pass a written test, online or in person, demonstrating an understanding of the course subjects not
more than 30 days after being licensed, permitted, or employed. The course provider shall issue a card to each individual who completes the course and passes the written test. A card issued under this
subsection is valid for three years from the date of issue. A licensee, permittee, agent, or employee may renew a card issued under this section; to renew the card, the licensee, permittee, agent, or employee
must pass a written test demonstrating an understanding of the course subjects. Notwithstanding the 30-day period 95 for completing the course and passing the written test under this subsection, a person
may not sell or serve alcohalic beverages or check the identification of a patron at a permitted event under AS 04.09.600 - 04.09.690 unless the person possesses a valid card issued before the event.

3 AAC 305.700. Alcohol server education course. (a) Unless exempt under AS 04.21 .025(f), a licensee, employee, or agent of a licensee selling or serving alcoholic beverages shall successfully complete an
alcohol server education course. The person or the on  duty supervisor shall carry or have available to show current course cards or photocopies of the cards certifying completion of an approved alcohol
server education course. The card is effective for three years from the date of issuance during which time the person shall complete another approved course or successfully complete a written test
demonstrating an understanding of the course subjects as required by AS 04.21.025(c). The card must include the name and date of birth of the card holder, the name of the course, and the date of expiration
of the card. If the card does not include a photograph of the holder, the person shall also carry a valid identification under 3 AAC 305.800(b). The card or a photocopy of the card must be shown upon request
of a peace officer or board representative. If the person cannot show a current card or a copy of it on file on the premises or show a date of hire less than 30 days earlier, the person shall immediately cease
selling or serving alcoholic beverages or checking identification.

AS 04.16.150. Licensee responsible for violations. (a) A licensee may neither knowingly allow agents or employees to violate this title or regulations adopted under this title nor recklessly or with criminal
negligence fail to act in accordance with the duty prescribed under AS 04.21.030 with the result that an agent or employee of the licensee violates a law or regulation.

(b) Except as provided under AS 04.16.030(f) and 04.16.052(e), a licensee who knowingly violates (a) of this section commits the offense of failure to ensure compliance.

(c) Failure to ensure compliance is a violation,

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:
N/A

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days after receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: J. Linger B Received by:
SIGNATURE: SIGNATURE:
Delivered VIA: Mail Date:
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updated 04/07/2025 Tracking# 7p2/ 8¢5




AMCO CASE # AM 25-1182

ALASKA STATE FAIR

XN

ALCOHOL & MARIJUANA CONTROL OFFICE
ATTN. ENFORCEMENT
550 W 7™ AVE, STE 1600, ANCHORAGE, AK 99501

August 29, 2025

Dear Officer Linger and Officer Hamilton,

Alaska State Fair, License 39, received a notice of violation on August 25, regarding an incident on August 23. The
bartender involved was carrying an expired TAP card while working at the Waterin’ Hole on the Alaska State
Fairgrounds. The bartender was under the assumption they had a thirty-day grace period as a new hire. We all
understand now that although we hire all staff members as new hires each year, they are not recognized as new
hires by AMCO.

Usually, people can only work a week or two at the fair. With the Fair now lengthened to three weeks, we must
double the average thirty staff we used to hire. So, each June/July we hire, as new-hires, approximately 70 staff
members for the Beverage Department. Our current process is to make a photocopy of everyone’s TAP card and
put it in their file. When we see a card that is near expiration, we remind the person that it must be renewed prior to

opening day of the fair. This person was reminded but we were remiss in following up on to ensure it was done.

To ensure this will not happen again, in addition to photocopies of the TAP cards, we are adding a column to our
spreadsheet of staff members that lists the expiration date of their TAP card. This will provide easy access to see
who we need to keep track of each year. We will refer to the spreadsheet a week prior to opening and make a list of

any cards that are close to expiring. We will not schedule anyone who has not stayed on top of their card status.

SINCERELY,

SHERI MUSGRAVE

BEVERAGE AND EVENTS MANAGER
SHERI@ALASKASTATEFAIR.ORG
(907) 746-7173

Alaska State Fair, License 39, 2075 Glenn Hwy, Palmer, AK 99645




Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 7/10/25 License #/Type: 4173 Beverage Dispensary
Licensee: Matthew Tomter /Eagle River Alehouse LLC ~ Address: 11901 Old Glenn Hwy. Eagle River AK 99577
DBA: Matanuske Brewing Company, Eagle River AMCO Case # AM 25-0942

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On Thursday, July 10th, 2025, The Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office discovered that the
Matanuska Brewing Company, Eagle River, license #4173 was operating under the name Eagle
River Alehouse.

A lighted sign outside the facility at 11901 Old Glenn Hwy was observed displaying the business as
Eagle River Alehouse. The doing business as listed on the license #4173 is documented as
Matanuska Brewing Company, Eagle River.

A name change request documentation could not be found for Matanuska Brewing Company, Eagle
River in hard copy or in the State of Alaska database ACCIS.

Your attention is directed to 3AAC 305.630: Licensed premises which reads in part, "(d) A licensee
may not alter the functional floor plan, reduce, or expand the area, or change the business name of
the licensed premises without the prior written approval of the director”

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:

On 5/2/2023 a notice of violation was issued to Matanuska Brewing Company, Eagle River for violation of AS 04.21.025:
Alcohol server education course, AS 04.21.030: Responsibility of licensees, agents, and employees, AS 04.16.159:
Licensee responsible for violations and Anchorage Municipal Code 10.50.015(s)

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days after receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 71" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: K. Whiteman Received by:
SIGNATURE: A)(( SIGNATURE:
Delivered VIA: Email Date:

updated 04/07/2025

Tracking #:


mailto:amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

From: Matt Tomter

To: Whiteman, Kendrick J (CED)

Cc: dougj@matanuskabrewco.com; Bankowski, Joe (CED)
Subject: Re: Name Change

Date: Friday, July 11, 2025 6:08:01 AM

CAUTION: This email originated from outside the State of Alaska mail system. Do not
click links or open attachments unless you recognize the sender and know the content
is safe.

I will turn in the name change for 4173 in person and get this matter resolved

On Jul 10, 2025, at 4:01 PM, Whiteman, Kendrick J (CED)
<kendrick.whiteman(@alaska.gov> wrote:

Matt Tomter or Doug Johnson,

Good Afternoon,

It has come to the attention of the Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office that the
Matanuska Brewing Company, Eagle River License #4173 is currently operating

under the Doing Business As: Eagle River Alehouse.

Current records confirm that a name change request had not been submitted by
Matanuska Brewing Company, Eagle River #4173.

If you wish to operate under Eagle River Alehouse a name change request must be
submitted

The license # 5639 is a Multiple Fixed Counter Endorsement formerly a duplicate
license is under the trade name Eagle River Alehouse but that is not the Primary

Beverage Dispensary License # 4173 DBA (Doing Business As).

If there is a reasonable explanation for this current circumstance please advise

this office.
Thank you,
<image001.png>
Kendrick Whiteman
Special Investigator |

Enforcement Unit

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
550 W 7" Ave

Anchorage, AK 99501

(907) 334 2529


mailto:tomtermatt@yahoo.com
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Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 8/14/25 License #/Type: 4350 Beverage Dispensary
Licensee: Jose Gallo Address: 135 W Dimond Boulevard, Suite 111, Anchorage, AK, 99515
DBA: Saint Coyote Restaurant and Lounge AMCO Case #:AM25-0995

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On 07/17/2025 Inv. Murray conducted a restaurant designation endorsement inspection at Saint Coyote Restaurant and lounge. Inv.
Murray asked Jose Gallo, the owner if he had anyone 17 years of age or younger working for him. Jose stated that he had one S. G. his
nephew. Jose stated that he was not sure if he had a Department of Labor permit for S. G. because he was hired before Jose became 100
percent owner. Jose called S. G. to confirm his age. Jose Gallo said he was 17 years old. Inv. Murray asked Jose to look for the DOL
permit and get back to him the next day. Inv. Murray called Jose on 07/22/2025 because he had not heard from him. Jose stated that he
didn’t have a permit for S. G. Inv. Murray sent a demand letter for employment records giving Jose Gallo 10 days to produce the records.
AMCO's Enforcement email received an email containing an |-9 for S. G. DOB 10/06/2005. Jose listed the hours S.G. worked starting in
February 2024 and ending in July 2025. Jose was unable to provide dates because S.G. would just fill in for people randomly. Adding up
the total hours worked comes to 1034 hours. If you divide 1034 hours by an eight-hour per shift that is 129.25 shifts in one year and 7
months without a work permit.

This is a violation of AS04.16.049(c)(3)

c) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, a person 16 or 17 years of age may enter and remain within the licensed premises of
a hotel or motel, large resort, golf course, general wholesaler, limited brewed beverage and wine wholesaler, common carrier dispensary,
outdoor recreation lodge, or restaurant in the course of employment if

(1) the employment does not involve the serving, mixing, delivering, or dispensing of alcoholic beverages;

(2) the person has the written consent of a parent or guardian; and

(3) an exemption from the prohibition of AS 23.10.355 is granted by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:

No prior history.

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days after receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7t" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: C. Murray Received by:
SIGNATURE: Cﬂw SIGNATURE:
Delivered VIA: Mail Date:

updated 04/07/2025 Tracking #:



Notice of Violation

(3AAC 304.525)
This form, all information provided and responses are public documents per Alaska Public Records ACT AS 40.25

Date: 7/22/25 License #/Type: 9516 Restaurant Eating Place
Licensee: Bridges Enterprises, LLC Address: 109 W. 4th Ave, Anchorage, AK
DBA: White Spot Cafe AMCO Case #: 25-0970

This is a notice to you as licensee that an alleged violation has occurred. If the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board decides to act
against your license, under the provisions of AS 44.62.330 - AS 44.62.630 (Administrative Procedures Act) you will receive an
Accusation and Notice of your right to an Administrative Hearing.

Note: This is not an accusation or a criminal complaint.

On 7-15-25, an inspection was completed at your location. It was learned that you employ minors.
When asked for the work permit of minor(s), | was presented with a work permit dated 6-3-24; that
indicated you were seeking permits for 14-17 year olds. The permit was not signed by the Dept. of
Labor (DOL). Inv. B. Weimer, DOL, was contacted and stated they do not have permits or had
permits for under-age person(s) working at White Spot Cafe. From September 2023 to January
2024, B.K, age 16, worked a total of 14 days with a signed permit. From June 2024 to July 2025,
B.P, now 16, worked a total of 32 days, 20 of those days, B.P. was 15 years-old.

Your attention is directed to AS 04.16.052(a)(2): Furnishing of alcoholic beverages to persons under
the age of 21 by licensees which reads in part, "(a) A licensee or an agent or employee of the
licensee may not with criminal negligence......... (2) allow a person under the age of 21 years to enter
and remain within licensed premises except as provided in AS 04.16.049;" and AS 04.16.150:
Licensee responsible for violations

Prior disciplinary history within the past 5 years:
NONE

You are directed to respond in writing to this Notice of Violation within 10 days of receipt to explain what action you have
taken to prevent a re-occurrence of this violation. FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WITHIN 10 DAYS
MAY RESULT IN YOUR APPEARANCE, EITHER IN PERSON OR TELEPHONICALLY, BEFORE THE ABC BOARD AT THEIR
NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

*Please send your response to the address below and include your alcohol license number in your response.

3 AAC 304.525 (B) provides that upon receipt of a Notice of Violation, a licensee may request to appear before the Director and be heard regarding the
Notice of Violation. The request must be made within ten days after receipt of the Notice and the Director must grant an appearance within ten days
after receipt of a request. A Licensee shall respond, either orally or in writing, to the Notice.

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office
ATTN: Enforcement

550 W. 7t" Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
amco.enforcement@alaska.gov

Issuing Investigator: J. Hamilton Received by:
SIGNATURE: FR AWielL7D1/ SIGNATURE:
Delivered VIA: Mail Date:

updated 04/07/2025

Tracking#: 7021 0950 0001 6767 1097



SHORTELL LAW LLC

911 West 8th Avenue Suite 204® Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Phone: (907) 272-8181 ® Fax: (888) 979-6148 ® E-Mail: cs.sgalaw(@gmail.com
Web: www.shortelllaw.com

July 31, 2025

Joe Hamilton
State of Alaska

Re: Response to Notice of Violation for Alcohol License #5516 Restaurant Eating Place

Dear Mr. Hamilton:

I represent Ms. Dodds and Mr. Bridges, the owners of the White Spot Café, who have hired me to
respond to the Notice of Violation for Alcohol License. #5516 Restaurant Eating Place. I understand
from your email to me that the Response to the Notice of Violation should include the clients’
understanding of what caused them to be in violation and how they will prevent a violation in the future.
Ms. Dodds seeks to sincerely apologize for the violation, to specify that it was inadvertent and the result
of being overburdened with the tasks of running the business, and that she plans to ensure future
compliance by pausing the hiring of 16 and 17 year olds until a compliance system can be adopted into
her payroll. Ms. Dodds respectfully request that there be no further penalty or action taken on what was
an inadvertent mistake by a law abiding business owner whose violation resulted out of mistake and

being spread too thin rather than any willful attempt to evade the law.

Ms. Dodds first conveys her extreme contrition for committing a violation as to Alcohol License.#5516
Restaurant Eating Place. She never intentionally employed minors in blatant disregard for Alaska State
Law. While ignorance of the law is no defense, she believes that she became confused when her
youngest son worked for her as a minor, which she understood to be permitted by law. Her violations

with regards to other employees was inadvertent and mistaken rather than intentional. Ms. Dodds



sincerely submits that she would never willfully put a minor in this situation and risk her Alcohol

License and the integrity of her business.

Ms. Dodds is appalled at her violation and has never felt so bad about something that has occurred in her
professional life. She submits that she has worked harder than a person should have to to keep the
establishment running, only to realize that working harder instead of smarter has put her business and
reputation in jeopardy. She offers this not as an excuse, for she takes full responsibility for her
negligence, but as insight as to how this could have happened. The Notice of Violation is a wakeup call

for Ms. Dodds.

The White Spot Cafe is the longest running restaurant in Anchorage. It is an iconic diner with a family
atmosphere. The White Spot serves breakfast and lunch from 7am - 3pm. Beer and Wine is a minute
amount of the total sales. From January 1, 2024 - July 28, 2025, the percentage of alcohol sales to the
total sales is .015. Alcohol represents less than 2% of total sales. They do not have a regular drinking
clientele. Rarely does anyone order more than 2 drinks, and people do not get drunk in the

establishment. It’s just not that kind of a place.

Ms. Dodds submits that she tries to do things the right way to the best of her ability but sincerely regrets
this violation. It’s important to her that the restaurant presents well to the public and that they offer
quality food at a fair price. Ms. Dodds goes out of her way to treat their employees with respect and
offer a good work environment. She works alongside the employees on a daily basis, most days from
open to close, and then after hours she does the shopping, stocking, cleaning, bookkeeping etc... Ms.
Dodds lives in Girdwood and leaves home by 6:00 a.m. most days and is rarely back home before 7:00
p.m. with many days being even longer. Ms. Dodds’s husband, the other 50% Bridges Enterprises, LLC

member, works out of town most of the time and Ms. Dodds runs all of the day-to-day operations.



Anybody that has worked for Ms. Dodds can attest to her work ethic and integrity in the workplace and

that she is a law-abiding business owner.

Ms. Dodds will ensure that there will be no further violations. At present, Ms. Dodds plans to pause in
the hiring of 16- or 17-year-olds until she adopts a system with checks and balances. She believes a
prompt can be put into her current payroll system that verifies the age of any new employee and asks if
all paperwork has been filed. Ideally, she would like to switch back to a local payroll
provider/administrative service and set up with them to have all paperwork reviewed for anyone 16 or

17 years of age to be sure it is properly executed and in place.

No one is more mortified than Ms. Dodds about the violation, especially that her mistake affects kids
she cares about. She may have been clueless and careless in her harried work style but did not willfully
make this mistake. Ms. Dodds respectfully requests that you take her contrition and the inadvertence of
her mistake, as well as her almost sole responsibility for most aspects of running the business into

consideration in this case.

Based on Ms. Dodds’ insight into the seriousness of the violation, her contrition, her inadvertent
mistake, and her plan to pause hiring 16- and 17-year-olds until she can adopt a payroll system to ensure
compliance, she asks that you not proceed with filing an accusation and close this matter without taking

any action beyond the Notice of Violation.

Respectfully,

/s/ Caitlin Shortell on behalf of Carla C Dodds

Caitlin Shortell, owner/attorney of Shortell Law LLC
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	Date:  7/10/2025
	Type of License: [Beverage Dispensary]
	Text8: Matthew Tomter /Eagle River Alehouse LLC
	Text11: 11901 Old Glenn Hwy. Eagle River AK 99577
	Text9: Matanuske Brewing Company, Eagle River
	Text12: AM 25-0942
	Text13: 
On Thursday, July 10th, 2025, The Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office discovered that the Matanuska Brewing Company, Eagle River, license #4173 was operating under the name Eagle River Alehouse.
A lighted sign outside the facility at 11901 Old Glenn Hwy was observed displaying the business as Eagle River Alehouse. The doing business as listed on the license #4173 is documented as Matanuska Brewing Company, Eagle River.
A name change request documentation could not be found for Matanuska Brewing Company, Eagle River in hard copy or in the State of Alaska database ACCIS.

Your attention is directed to 3AAC 305.630:  Licensed premises which reads in part, "(d) A licensee may not alter the functional floor plan, reduce, or expand the area, or change the business name of the licensed premises without the prior written approval of the director"
	Dropdown15: [K. Whiteman]
	Text1: 
	Dropdown16: [Email]
	Date2_af_date: 
	Text2:  4173
	Tracking Number: 
	Text3: On 5/2/2023 a notice of violation was issued to Matanuska Brewing Company, Eagle River for violation of AS 04.21.025:  Alcohol server education course, AS 04.21.030: Responsibility of licensees, agents, and employees, AS 04.16.159:  Licensee responsible for violations and Anchorage Municipal Code 10.50.015(s) 


